Ladies and gentlemen, if you’re living in Australia then you might not be aware that it is, in fact, spring.

Spring is, quite possibly, my all-time-favourite season, because it is often the perfect balance of hot/cold, sun/cloud, etc. Also, lots of flowers and baby animals and stuff, IΒ love that!

Here in Australia, the seasons apparently don’t know what’s up. Now, this could be due to climate changeΒ (most likely, to be honest), or the work of some heavily pissed of indigenous deity that has finally had it up to here with our bullshit (a definite possibility, for those that believe in divine intervention), but whatever the reason is, the weather is just not getting with the seasonal program.

Like right now, for example:

It’s 9 degrees (celsius), the wind is all up in everybody’s business, and the clouds are promising rain to rival the great floods of the arc days.

Spring in Melbourne (or, rather, Spring in regional victoria, I suppose).

There is, of course, one great thing about this weather! It is the perfect excuse to stay inside, reading or writing or baking or even just sleeping in because unlike most other people I don’t have a job and so I have waaaay too much free time on my hands.

You’d think, with all of this free time, I’d be super productive…

Well, you’d also be pretty wrong, but that’s neither here nor there.

The end of November marks the end of school and uni, of holidays and SUN! Well, if you’re lucky enough to live in a state where the sun doesn’t just pop out occasionally from behind the slate grey clouds.

It’s not that I’m really complaining about the weather, or that I think my complaints will have any effect, but I’m excessively bored now that uni is over, and my friends have work so I spend most of my time enjoying the cold, wet, windy weather by reading or binging comedies on Netflix.

I’m still incredibly nervous about this piece that may-or-may-not be getting published, and I haven’t heard anything else about it, and it’s kind of freaking me out (it shouldn’t but this piece is like my itty bitty lesbian goddess baby so it’s very important to me).

So yeah. Just a tiny little update on the state of the spring weather here in rainy old South Gippsland. How’s the weather where you are?

Stay warm, snugglebunnies!!

The Weather Girl. x

 

