Hey folks!

Today was a pretty relaxed affair, considering all of the things I probably should have been doing. I did, however, finish my essay on Red Riding Hood, so that was a plus! (Though, I also forgot to cite both versions of the text I referenced, so that could have gone better).

Sleeping in is always wonderful, though I can’t seem to work out the kinks in my neck afterwards. My friend Moose came by, bringing her amazing pancakes, and so we ate breakfast together and didn’t do much else.

After she left I got down to business. I let the bunny out of her hutch for a little wander, which is great until I have to search through the hedge to find her. She is a beautiful little bunny, but damn is she fast! I also followed mum down the back while she let the chickens out, which is always hilarious.

After the essay was complete I did exactly what I had told myself I would: Nothing. I let myself stew for a while over various ideas for journal spreads and short drabbles between my O/C’s, but I didn’t so much as lift a finger to write any of it down. It was thoroughly relaxing.

Then, lo and behold, a wild Moose re-appears! She came for lunch and stayed till long after dinner. We didn’t do much, if anything at all, and it’s always nice having a person to do nothing with. At one point I suggested we make scones, and we did so!

Because I can’t do anything the easy/normal way, I decided we’d make blueberry and lemon scones, using one of my mum’s favourite recipes. To say it was a success would be over-stating it a little. At one point the mix was so sticky we had to have mum come and fix it! But, alas, they didn’t turn out too badly at all. And they tasted marvelous. (see end of post for the recipe!)

I have uni tomorrow, and it’s a full day from 4:30 in the morning until 9pm. If I knew I didn’t need to go, I really would just stay home. I may only have to go two days a week, but those two days are two days too many. Spending today just relaxing is probably the only reason I’ll be in any way functional tomorrow, haha.

that’s all for now, I guess. Catch you later!

The Baker xx

 

Blueberry Scones a la Emily

Ingredients:

  • 2 cups of self-raising flour (the original recipe only calls for 2, but be warned, you may need more, so have another half-cup to a cup set aside. You’ll need extra for rolling anyway)
  • 2 tablespoons of melted butter
  • a pinch of salt (roughly half a teaspoon)
  • 1 cup of milk
  • Half a cup of frozen blueberries (Or, if you have the funds, fresh)
  • a teaspoon of lemon juice

Method:

Step 1. Preheat oven to 220 degrees c.

Step 2. Sift the flour into a large mixing bowl. Proceed to mix in the rest of the ingredients, slowly adding each one separately.

Step 3. Panic because the mixture is way to wet and sticky. Start shovelling spoonfuls of flour in until it appears to be of the right, doughy -yet still slightly wet- consistency. Knead it with purpose until you think it looks about ready.

Step 4. Roll fist sized wads of the dough into the approximation of a ball. Slap them down onto a prepared baking tray. In theory, this should make between 8 and 12 scones, but it is possible to make both more and less depending on how big you wish to roll them.

Step 5. Stick that tray in the oven and don’t open it again for 10-15 minutes. If it smells like it’s burning, then something has gone horribly wrong and you should just let satan take what he wants.

I’m kidding. You’ll only need to bake them for 10-15 minutes. This was the first time I’ve ever made scones, so I’m really only making this part of the process up. They’ll be hot, so leave them on the tray to cool for a few minutes before placing them on a cooling rack.

Pro Tip!: Despite the fact that they’ll be hot enough to burn through your soul, they taste absolutely fabulous fresh from the oven, with a little butter/cream.

 

Safe baking, everybody!

